The Accused

£7.50Out of Stock

Also available as part of the Blackcatalog collection.
and via Download from the Nero Schwarz Download Store.

Studio Album Released 1999
“It’s time to come out of the shadows,” said Colin on the release of his first album recorded under his own name. Released in 1999 on his own label, the album was named after the punchline to the joke “What do you call a scouser in a suit?”. Colin said: “Despite the financial restrictions being indie is a joy and this LP is as close as I’ve come thus far to realising my maximum potential as a writer and performer. I just decided to record the album I wanted to make, even if nobody else was interested.”

Q Magazine’s review said: “a set suffused with his trademark reflective melancholy… a crooner reminiscent of a 60s Scott Walker”. Record Collector said: “A return to ‘Wonderful life“s form…The first single, ‘Sleeper’, has been hailed as perfect pop and bodes well for the future.”

Sleeper was co-written by and features backing vocals by Boo Hewerdine.

Also Available:

The Accused - Colin VearncombeBlackScratch-Buy_Album_nothumb

The Accused was album of the month for September 2013 – click here to see posts about the making of the album, insight into the songs and other treats.


Click on the Song Title to read the Lyrics.


Number One

Yves Klein Blue

The Way She Was Before


Better Letting Go

Storm Cloud Katherine

St Cecilia

Blue Sky


original album credits

Produced by Colin Vearncombe and Martin Green
Mixed by Rafe McKenna
Mastered by Robin Millar assisted by Mark Smith
Photography & design by Graham Wood at Tomato
This record is brought to you by East Central One
Distributed by RMG Distribution
P&C 1999 Nero Schwarz Ltd. On exclusive licence to East Central One Ltd.

Sleeper written by Colin Vearncombe/Boo Hewerdine; published by Hornall Brothers (Music) Ltd./Chrysalis Music
Number One written by Colin Vearncombe/Alison Clarke/Charlie Dore; published by Hornall Brothers (Music) Ltd. & Hillwark Music/Warner Chappell Music Ltd.
Yves Klein Blue written by Colin Vearncombe; published by Rondor Music (London) Ltd.
The Way She Was Before written by Colin Vearncombe; published by Hornall Brothers (Music) Ltd.
Ghosts written by Colin Vearncombe/Gary Clarke/Reg Meuross; published by Hornall Brothers (Music) Ltd./Chrysalis Music Ltd./Bug Music Ltd.
Better Letting Go written by Colin Vearncombe/John O’Kane; published by Hornall Brothers (Music) Ltd./Warner Chappell Music Ltd.
Storm Cloud Katherine written by Colin Vearncombe; published by Rondor Music (London) Ltd.
St. Cecilia written by Colin Vearncombe; published by Hornall Brothers (Music) Ltd.
Blue Sky and Surrender written by Colin Vearncombe; published by Rondor Music (London) Ltd.

Colin Vearncombe: vocals/guitars/piano/glockenspiel/percussion
Martin Green: Keyboards
Clare Kenny: Basss
Jim Kimberley: Drums

Strings: Sally Herbert, Claire Orsler, Jocelyn Pook, Anne Stephenson, Gini Ball
Brass: Steve Sidwell and Nigel Barr
Strings and brass arranged by CV & MG

Calum MacColl: guitar and bass on ‘Blue Sky’, additional guitars on ‘The Way She Was Before’
Paul Stacy: additional guitars on ‘Sleeper’ & ‘St. Cecilia’
Jeremy Stacy: Drums on ‘Sleeper’, additional keyboards on ‘Storm Cloud Katherine’ & ‘St. Cecilia’
Steve Barney: Drums on ‘Blue Sky’
Martin Ditcham, Carlos Edwards: Percussion on ‘Number One’
Boo Hewerdine: additional vocals on ‘Sleeper’
Charlie Dore: additional vocals on ‘Number One’
Lady Black: additional vocals on ‘Sleeper’ & ‘Better Letting Go’
Steve Barney appears courtesy of Vertigo Mercury Records Ltd.

My thanks to Martin without whom who knows? Black is dead, long live The Accused, Colin Vearncombe